top of page



What are Ice Seals?

Four seal species in Alaska (ringed, bearded, spotted, and ribbon) are referred to as “ice seals” because of their close association with and dependence upon sea ice for feeding, resting, molting, and pupping.  The harvest and use of ice seals is vital to Alaska Native subsistence and culture because they provide a source of food, and their skin is the raw material used for clothing, boats, and crafts.

Click on the images for information on each ice seal species
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Google+ Icon



bottom of page